Get in the Hog if you want to live!

 
User avatar
Mzoga
Role Unknown
Role Unknown
Posts: 326
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 7:51 am
Gamertag: HWM Mzoga

Can't reach site

Fri May 27, 2016 1:38 pm

From work, no problem. From phone, works if I'm not on my home WLAN.

I'm not sure where else to look -- I haven't change anything. Nslookup appears to work, so I'm not sure where else to look. I am running ipv6 so I don't have to deal with NAT issues, could that be it?
 
User avatar
il Duce
Role Unknown
Role Unknown
Posts: 3085
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 7:03 pm
Title: Drinking Coach
Gamertag: HWM il Duce
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Can't reach site

Fri May 27, 2016 1:51 pm

We're having the same issue at home. It works if we add the "www." for some reason. Brick is already looking into it.
 
User avatar
brickfungus
Role Unknown
Role Unknown
Posts: 4262
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:43 am
Title: Owner
Gamertag: HWM BrickFungus
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Re: Can't reach site

Fri May 27, 2016 2:56 pm

by "looking into it' means i'm kinda annoyed and not sure what to do about it.
Image
THIS SHOULDN'T BE HERE

I'M A LEGEND IN MY SPARE TIME
 
User avatar
Mzoga
Role Unknown
Role Unknown
Posts: 326
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 7:51 am
Gamertag: HWM Mzoga

Re: Can't reach site

Sun May 29, 2016 8:25 am

brickfungus wrote:
by "looking into it' means i'm kinda annoyed and not sure what to do about it.


I know the feeling. :D

As long as I remember to do add "www" as suggested by duce, I can survive. I think the only think that really breaks is the links from the shout box.
 
User avatar
brickfungus
Role Unknown
Role Unknown
Posts: 4262
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:43 am
Title: Owner
Gamertag: HWM BrickFungus
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Re: Can't reach site

Sun May 29, 2016 6:34 pm

it's suddenly working for me...

what's your IP, i did a giant ip range ban when we were getting hit
Image
THIS SHOULDN'T BE HERE

I'M A LEGEND IN MY SPARE TIME
 
User avatar
Laughlyn
Passenger Wheelman
Passenger Wheelman
Posts: 2938
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 1:56 pm
Gamertag: HWM Laughlyn
Location: DFW, Texas
Contact:

Re: Can't reach site

Mon May 30, 2016 8:59 pm

are you on your phone using "internet" instead of a normal browser??... cus brick sarge and ducke told me to "deal with it and download chrome if thats the case" while we were all in denver... J/fkin/s
Image
brickfungus wrote:
we recruit based on personality and not talent (look at laughy)
 
User avatar
Mzoga
Role Unknown
Role Unknown
Posts: 326
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 7:51 am
Gamertag: HWM Mzoga

Re: Can't reach site

Mon May 30, 2016 9:48 pm

204.210.201.210
 
User avatar
RubbrDuckE
Contest Loser
Contest Loser
Posts: 722
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 2:40 pm
Gamertag: HWM RubbrDuckE

Re: Can't reach site

Mon May 30, 2016 10:48 pm

single-step solution guaranteed to work or your money back:
1. leave ohio

Laughlyn wrote:
are you on your phone using "internet" instead of a normal browser??... cus brick sarge and ducke told me to "deal with it and download chrome if thats the case" while we were all in denver... J/fkin/s


::lol::
I messed with Duce and got banned. laugh at my expense...
 
User avatar
Thee MC
Ground Pounder
Ground Pounder
Posts: 592
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:48 pm
Gamertag: HWM MC
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Can't reach site

Mon May 30, 2016 11:46 pm

Both are working for me. Seems like some ISPs have incorrect information for the A records. Not sure if hosting has ever changed for the site, but I would go into DNS settings and check to make sure that halowheelmen.com and http://www.halowheelmen.com both only have 1 A record listed, and that it's pointing to the right IP.

I just had this issue with Minecraft server, sometimes it would work and sometimes it wouldn't. Turns out there were 2 IPs listed, because I neglected to delete the old A record for that subdomain.

Edit:
Confirmed, looks like http://www.halowheelmen.com has 2 A records listed, unless this has something to do with CloudFlare:
Image
 
User avatar
Mzoga
Role Unknown
Role Unknown
Posts: 326
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 7:51 am
Gamertag: HWM Mzoga

Re: Can't reach site

Tue May 31, 2016 8:09 am

RubbrDuckE wrote:
single-step solution guaranteed to work or your money back:
1. leave ohio

Laughlyn wrote:
are you on your phone using "internet" instead of a normal browser??... cus brick sarge and ducke told me to "deal with it and download chrome if thats the case" while we were all in denver... J/fkin/s


::lol::


What's wrong with Ohio? :shrug: ::wink::

In reference to MC's write up, I use Google for DNS at present -- I can switch back to TWC for test purposes if that would help.
 
User avatar
Thee MC
Ground Pounder
Ground Pounder
Posts: 592
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:48 pm
Gamertag: HWM MC
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Can't reach site

Tue May 31, 2016 8:44 am

Mzoga wrote:
RubbrDuckE wrote:
single-step solution guaranteed to work or your money back:
1. leave ohio

Laughlyn wrote:
are you on your phone using "internet" instead of a normal browser??... cus brick sarge and ducke told me to "deal with it and download chrome if thats the case" while we were all in denver... J/fkin/s


::lol::


What's wrong with Ohio? :shrug: ::wink::

In reference to MC's write up, I use Google for DNS at present -- I can switch back to TWC for test purposes if that would help.

My post was more in reference to the dns records for the site. I would imagine that Google's DNS are fine. My point was that the configuration on the domain points www.halowheelmen.com to 2 IP addresses. This could be a round robin design implemented by CloudFlare, but I'm not sure.
 
User avatar
Mzoga
Role Unknown
Role Unknown
Posts: 326
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 7:51 am
Gamertag: HWM Mzoga

Re: Can't reach site

Fri Jun 03, 2016 11:23 pm

So, if I use a VPN extension to chrome, I can get in from my home network. Otherwise, I can't get in at all anymore, with or without the www. :(

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
GZIP: Off