Get in the Hog if you want to live!

Tims
Master Ground Pounder
Master Ground Pounder
Gamertag: HWM Tims

Runescape

Tue May 10, 2016 6:17 am

Runescape has been my guilty pleasure MMO since I started playing it and I still play it to this day and actually really enjoy the game, so I wonder how many of you guys have played/still play it. MC sparked this recently when he mentioned it, I didn't think any of the wheelmen would have touched the game in years if at all, so it was a pleasant surprise to hear about it. Until I got my Xbox One recently this game was one of the main games I played on PC, and even though it's an MMO I got a lot of solid solo play time out of it.

If anyone feels the urge to try RS again, there are two versions now. The "main game" is known as RS3 and features the EOC (Evolution of Combat) system that was implemented (and heavily improved since) back in 2012. Initially I hated this system (along with the vast majority of the community) and this made me leave the game for a while. However after coming back and giving it a fair shot I can say it was a necessity. It isn't perfect but it did open up the game for things that weren't possible before, but at a cost. The PvP community in RS3 is almost non-existent because all of the hardcore PvPers play Old School (more on that next). However, the PvE experiences are 100x better than they ever could've been with the old system. This leads to the big divide in the community being PvP versus PvE. Also very recently they upgraded the game client from Java to C++, a more modern programming language. As a result the game doesn't look like it's stuck in 2005 anymore, which well take a load off the eyes.