Sarge
Wheelman
Wheelman
Title: Retired Admin
Gamertag: HWM Sarge
Tumblr: bengiyo

Learning to Cook

Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:28 pm

I'm not a total novice, but I want to become more confident in my culinary skills. I'm making advances in my life and want to be prepared for living alone.

As many of you know, I have a lot of thoughts on the movie Moonlight. One of the things that sticks out for me in this movie is that everyone in Chiron's life capable of giving him love also fed him. In the third act, it's hinted that Chiron cannot do much in the kitchen. I want to be able to take care of myself properly and not have such a messy or dysfunctional kitchen.

Additionally self-sufficiency is attractive and the ability to cook tasty food for others is a useful skill when courting a potential interest.

So, if anyone has resources for the following, I'd very much appreciate it.

1. Meal Planning
2. Cost-efficient shopping in groceries
3. Stocking a kitchen and pantry
4. Proper kitchen tools and uses
5. Meal and food preparation
6. Cooking techniques
7. Recipes

This is meant to be a fun bit of self improvement, so I will post about the things I'm reading and watching and let everyone follow along with my learning. Others are also welcome to join the journey.
1/2 of the BR Leech Octagon Hall of Fame

VooDoo
Role Unknown
Role Unknown
Gamertag: HWM VooDoo

Re: Learning to Cook

Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:41 pm

Are there any specific types of foods you like/dislike?

And when you say meal planning, is there a specific goal you are looking to accomplish? i.e. weight loss, muscle building, low sugar, low sodium ect.

I can say one of the most important things I can think of right off the bat is a good set of measuring tools, both for wet and dry ingredients.

Sarge
Wheelman
Wheelman

Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:48 pm

Merlin wrote:
Are there any specific types of foods you like/dislike?